Skip to content

Flyers vs. Capitals 2/24/2009

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

In case you didn’t have a chance to watch the Flyers comeback for a huge win over the Capitals at the Verizon Center, Bill Clement put together a great overview of the game.Β Or you could just check out the highlights. Either way, this was one of the best games I’ve seen all season long.

When the Capitals took a 2-0 lead over the Flyers, I thought for sure this game was over. Those Washington fans figured out how to Rock the Red during last year’s playoffs; they are now a raucous bunch that feed their team with pure energy. Couple that with the shark-like offensive pounce the Capitals possess, and visiting teams can struggle to produce goals in the best of situations. Down two goals without your best defenseman is not even close to the best of situations.

What impressed me was that the Flyers never gave up. They pushed forward, in never-say-die fashion, from the first minute to the last. Every line and defense pairing contributed goals and grit. Every line and defense pairing worked together to force the formidable Washington attack out of the middle. And when the lines and pairs weren’t enough, Antero Niittymaki held the pipes.

A character win for the Flyers tonight, and a huge two points. Next up: the LA Kings.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Carmine permalink
    Wednesday, February 25, 2009 8:20 pm

    what a game last night!

    • Wednesday, February 25, 2009 10:37 pm

      For sure! That was one of the best of the season – made me excited for some playoff hockey.

  2. John permalink
    Wednesday, February 25, 2009 9:35 pm

    I don’t know that I like the new look FF. It’s too.. bright I guess? All I know is that I preferred the old one.

    Anyway, thanks for beating the Kings tonight. At least you guys are doing your part to keep Colorado’s slim Playoff hopes alive. Some might argue that the Flyers are doing /more/ to help our cause than we are. 😦

  3. Wednesday, February 25, 2009 10:35 pm

    I’m trying to find one that’s really read-able. The previous layout had low visibility when I linked anything in the text, and I didn’t care for that. This one’s better with the hyperlinks, but the white background is a huge contrast from the black one.

    Anything to help out the Avs – provided it doesn’t require the Flyers to lose πŸ™‚

    • Wednesday, February 25, 2009 10:49 pm

      And of course, as soon as I handle replying to the comments, I notice that there’s a new layout on WordPress. Sigh . . .

      Let me know what you think of the new version

  4. John permalink
    Wednesday, February 25, 2009 11:13 pm

    It’s a little better now. I still have to get used to the white background after it being black for so long. At least the number of comments is back at the top of the entries now. I was getting a little annoyed having to scroll down to see if there were any new ones. πŸ™‚

    The only reason I’d need Philly to lose would be if we played you guys. And since I’m pretty sure that doesn’t happen again this season, that shouldn’t be an issue.

    Anyway, enough of my complaining.. Are you happy to see Brodeur back? {Or is that a dumb question to ask a Flyers fan?} Obviously I’m not as it means he’s that much closer to breaking Roy’s wins record.

    • Thursday, February 26, 2009 9:06 am

      Eh, I choose not to invest too much energy in Brodeur. My hatred for him burned off a long time ago. I now feel a deep seated resentment towards the Devils for having a goaltender (unlike the Flyers), blended with a resigned understanding that Brodeur is just ridiculously fantastic.

      That said, I’d love to catch the Devils in the standings. Seeing the Flyers and Devils battle for top of the Atlantic Division is a very familiar sight for me, and I prefer to see the Flyers win those battles.

  5. John permalink
    Thursday, February 26, 2009 9:54 pm

    4-0 Devils win.. Can’t really blame this entirely on Raycroft, even though he did give up four tallies. Brodeur has been out for months, the offense should have been able to get at least /something/ going!

    • Friday, February 27, 2009 9:03 am

      How quickly you forget that we’re talking about Brodeur. The man is a freak of nature – healthy, durable, and incredibly, ridiculously talented. That’s the only way to explain it.

  6. John permalink
    Friday, February 27, 2009 11:58 am

    I didn’t forget about his skill. But our offense hasn’t exactly been spectacular lately {Especially with the man-advantage}. Of course, whenever the offense /does/ show up for a game, the goaltending leaves something to be desired. And vice versa..

  7. John permalink
    Saturday, February 28, 2009 7:03 pm

    Well, if Colorado wants to even have a shot at the Playoffs I’d advise winning tonight’s game. I’m sure you want to see them win as well, but for slightly different reasons. πŸ˜‰

    Let’s Go Avs!

  8. John permalink
    Saturday, February 28, 2009 7:13 pm

    F*ck you, Peter Budaj! 1:08 into the game and we’re down 2-0. Not just one quick goal, no, Budaj gives up one at the 28 second mark, and then allows another score a mere 40 seconds later. Both were 5-on-5 tallies..

  9. John permalink
    Saturday, February 28, 2009 7:41 pm

    Okay, one of the following is true:

    1. The Rangers are just that good.

    2. Budaj is just that bad.

    3. The Avs suck again tonight.

    4. Trick Question, all of the above are true, and it’s 4-0 in the first.

    • Monday, March 2, 2009 12:31 pm

      Well, the Rangers aren’t that good. Budaj might just be that bad. I didn’t catch the game, so I don’t know whether the Avs actually sucked. And 4 has already been ruled out because the Rangers aren’t that good.

      So I’m going with #2 πŸ™‚

  10. John permalink
    Saturday, February 28, 2009 8:38 pm

    Well, if it counts for anything, Raycroft is doing better than Budaj did {11 saves on 13 shots to Peter’s 6 saves on 9 shots}. Still 5-1 after 2 though, with Smyth getting the goal.

  11. Sunday, March 1, 2009 7:05 am

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  12. John permalink
    Sunday, March 1, 2009 11:18 am

    Naslund makes it a 6-1 final score. I gave up on the game after the final two minutes ended up consisting of two fights and three Game Misconduct penalties.. I think last night was probably the worst Avs game I’ve seen since the 8-2 mauling we took from Detroit in Game 4 of the second round last year to get swept.

    • Monday, March 2, 2009 12:32 pm

      You know, I’m surprised that it took that long for the rough stuff to start. With a wimpy as the Rangers are right now, I’d think Laperriere and McLeod would have a field day with them. Did the Rangers dominate physically, or did the Avs play without any edge?

      • John permalink
        Monday, March 2, 2009 3:19 pm

        I think we kind of lost our edge after those two quick goals. Add that to the fact that we’re on a road trip, and I think the guys just aren’t coming out with the necessary intensity to win. The goalies aren’t helping at all either. Just a poor effort all around, and I don’t know how this can’t be blamed on the coach. Granato couldn’t get the team to win on our 8-game homestand, and we still can’t win on the road; struggling as we’ve done all season. Stastny is back, so injury isn’t much of a factor.. We weren’t exactly doing so great when Sakic /was/ healthy. I’m really wishing that Quenneville was in Denver and not Chicago.

  13. CapitalSpirit permalink
    Sunday, March 1, 2009 12:25 pm

    Believe it or not, I’m going to be pulling for you guys today. We’re hoping to keep New Jersey behind us, and we need all the help we can get. Florida scares me–they could turn into this year’s version of last year’s Caps. It’s going to be quite the cat fight this afternoon at the Phone Booth.

    Anyway, if you guys win, you gain ground in the East, and you’re happy. You keep the Devils safely behind us, and Caps fans are happy. See? Lots of happy at both ends of I-95. πŸ™‚

    By my math, you still need a total of 10 points to mathematically lock up the 14 spot in the East, as well as 4th in the Atlantic. But from there, the next few teams should be fairly easy to get past. You can check the chart on my site if you’re curious enough–I’m running every current magic number for every team in the NHL.

    • Monday, March 2, 2009 12:45 pm

      Such a disappointing game for me. It’s painful watching Flyers-Devils games. That team killed my playoff dreams every year when I was a kid.

      So I watched the Capitals-Panthers tilt to try to raise my spirits. And it was like watching the exact same game. The Panthers absolutely shut the Caps down early on, and it seemed like the Caps couldn’t find ways to stay out of the penalty box. Odd game.

  14. John permalink
    Sunday, March 1, 2009 8:22 pm

    Hey FF, what do you think of Kari Lehtonen? You probably have a better idea of his abilities than I do since you guys play Atlanta a lot more often. As far as I know, this is the last year of his contract, {I believe he signed for two years in ’06} and with Atlanta down in 29th, they may be willing to part with him. I know the Avs aren’t exactly in the position of ‘seller’, and it’s probably better to just wait until the off-season and make a play for him then.. But I was wondering what your thoughts are on him.

    • Monday, March 2, 2009 12:51 pm

      Kari Lehtonen is one of those goalies that could go either way. He’s extremely talented and athletic, and he would probably put up better numbers if the defense in front of him weren’t so porous. On the other hand, he does seem a little injury prone and allows some softies that are truly frustrating.

      He actually reminds me a lot of his fellow Finn Antero Niittymaki. Lehtonen relies more on stand-up goaltending than Niitymaki. But they’re both excellent goalies at the crossroads between being a full-timer and a solid NHL back-up.

      • John permalink
        Monday, March 2, 2009 3:11 pm

        Well if nothing else, I think I can say that our defense is better than Atlanta’s. More blocked shots {4th in the league to 11th} and less shots against {1,844 to 2,080}. We just need someone who can actually stop the pucks that get past the D-men. Of course, who knows how many of our current players will actually still be here come next year..

Trackbacks

  1. Flyers vs. Capitals 2/24/2009 | Flyers Fan Central

Leave a Reply

