Skip to content

What is the NHL thinking this morning?

Friday, December 12, 2008

For those who haven’t checked out NHL.com yet this morning, the Game of the Night top billing goes to the hat tricks from Sykora and Dupuis in the Penguins’ 9-2 victory over the Islanders. Two hat tricks in one night is certainly a very special game. I had a chance to catch one last year when Joffrey Lupul and RJ Umberger pulled off that feat against the Pens at the Wachovia Center.

But let’s be honest here: who thought the Penguins would lose to the Islanders? And who thought it would be extremely tough for the top loaded Pens offense to score on Joey MacDonald? Or on Yanic Danis?

Meanwhile, the Flyers’ comeback win over the Carolina Hurricanes after being down by four goals is only second on the list. We may all have believed that the Flyers should beat a team with four defensemen with little-to-no NHL experience. But how many people actually thought they would pull out a victory when they saw the 5-1 Carolina score at the second intermission? Bueller? Bueller?

Craziness . . .

10 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    Friday, December 12, 2008 9:47 am

    Here, I’ll try to explain this in two simple words.
    Word #1: Pittsburgh
    Word #2: Penguins

    Do you understand now?

    • Friday, December 12, 2008 10:11 am

      Oh, that’s what they were thinking. I should have known it wasn’t about hockey. I mean, it’s only at the center of their name.

      Sometimes I think they should just officially change it to the CHL – Crosby Hockey League.

  2. John permalink
    Friday, December 12, 2008 12:14 pm

    The ‘hockey’ part is merely for show. They wanted to fit in with the other sports leagues, so they copied the initialing style {NFL, MLB, et al}. I’m sure Bettman and friends would love to rename it after Crosby though..

  3. John permalink
    Friday, December 12, 2008 6:18 pm

    Quenneville’s Hawks make a visit to the Pepsi Center tonight. I’m obviously hoping the Avs win, but a part of me would like to see Joel win, just to spite management. So I’ve come up with a solution! Chicago wins in OT/SO. We get a point, he gets the win.

    ..Nope, I just can’t bring myself to wish for the above to happen. I want an Avs win, and I don’t care how we get it! 🙂

    • Friday, December 12, 2008 11:12 pm

      And you thought my desire to see New Jersey beat the Penguins was complex! 🙂

  4. John permalink
    Friday, December 12, 2008 11:25 pm

    Might I say, Quenneville 2, Colorado 0?

  5. John permalink
    Friday, December 12, 2008 11:36 pm

    A 4-3 regulation loss in our building. Not to take anything away from the Blackhawks squad, but are there any excuses even left for letting Joel leave?! They can say it was a ‘mutual agreement’ if they wish, but anyone who follows sports knows what that really means. They forced out the coach but wanted to save face..

    And here, I figure I’ll share this little tidbit of info. I’ve adopted this as my quote for my ESPN profile, updating it as necessary:
    “Blackhawks since hiring Quenneville: 13-4-6
    Avs since firing Quenneville: 14-14-1
    You do the math.” 🙂

  6. Saturday, December 13, 2008 1:20 am

    Congratulations? I’m not really sure whether to praise you for seeing the value in Quenneville, or console you on your Avs.

  7. John permalink
    Saturday, December 13, 2008 9:47 am

    I’d vote for the consolation.. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that we should have kept Quenneville.

Trackbacks

  1. What is the NHL thinking this morning? | FlyersFanCentral

Leave a Reply

