Skip to content

Chillin’, Grillin’, and Grindin’

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Is Scottie Upshall yet another hockey player with an interest in Elisha Cuthbert? Find the answers to this and other questions in one of NHL.com’s newest features: Chillin’ with . . .

Not only does Scott Hartnell know how to throw a glove. He also knows his way around the grill.

Ed Moran had a terrific article in the Daily News on last night’s game. I rarely discover postgame coverage of a game I watched that I actually enjoy reading, usually because the journalist covers the highlights and inserts a few standard, tired quotes.

Grinder goals are so very rare, and perhaps that’s why they illicit more excitement and interest than the nightly coverage of Carter/Gagne/Richards. Perhaps it’s just that grinders are special people with depth of character. But either way, Moran’s description of Riley Cote and Darroll Powe reacting to their performances warmed my heart.

And yes, as a tough-as-nails, fight-loving, blood-thirsty Philly hockey fan, I’m fully willing to acknowledge that I too can be touched by the grinders. What can I say? Hockey brings out the best in me. 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    Thursday, December 11, 2008 10:02 am

    “Just be careful when you’re handling those cookies. Wouldn’t want to see any other “household accidents” this week.”

    Very funny, FF, very funny..

    • Thursday, December 11, 2008 10:26 am

      I’m sorry. I shouldn’t mock you in your time of mourning. The joy of discovering that the Pens were defeated by the Devils sent me into such a state of euphoria that I lost all sense of propriety.

  2. John permalink
    Thursday, December 11, 2008 11:42 am

    Hey, I could always make some comments about Briere if you want. 😉

    Snap out of it FF! We’re not even 30 games in {Excluding the Rangers that is}, no need to get all euphoric over a Pens loss.. Especially since it means a Devils win. Because you know, NJ has two games in hand and are now only 2 points back of Philly.

  3. Thursday, December 11, 2008 1:07 pm

    Hey, don’t rain on my parade! I needed the Pens to lose last night so that when the Flyers win tonight against Carolina, the Flyers will be two points ahead in the standings. Then, when the Flyers defeat the Penguins on Saturday, Philly will be 4 points ahead of Pittsburgh, same number of games played.

  4. John permalink
    Thursday, December 11, 2008 1:41 pm

    I hate to rain on the parade some more, but you’re once again forgetting about the Devils. 🙂

    • Thursday, December 11, 2008 1:54 pm

      Look, anytime the Rangers, Devils, or Penguins play among themselves, it’s a lose-lose situation for me. I hate them all equally. In these situations, it boils down to two priorities:
      1) The game must end in regulation. A three-point game trumps lose-lose in the suckiness scale because both of them win. And that does not help the Flyers one bit.
      2) You then have to consider who is the greater foe. The Penguins are the better team, and thus the greater threat. Therefore that is the team I want to see lose.

  5. John permalink
    Thursday, December 11, 2008 2:05 pm

    I know, but it’s more fun to keep mentioning the Devils than to admit that the Pens are any good. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Chillin’, Grillin’, and Grindin’ | FlyersFanCentral

Leave a Reply

