Skip to content

Philadelphia Flyers vs. Phoenix Coyotes 11/22/2008

Saturday, November 22, 2008

Carter celebratesQuick show of hands among Toronto Maple Leafs fans: Who wants to go back in time to last year’s trade deadline and force Tomas Kaberle to waive his no-trade clause?

Jeff Carter showed the characteristics of his game that so closely resemble Mats Sundin: speed, strength, and shots. He scored the tying goal, assisted on the game-winner from Mike Richards, and ended the night a +3. He loggedย seven shots during the game, all taken during the third period and overtime. Oh, and he found time to hand out one hit and three blocked shots. Now that’s a player on fire.

Carter also demonstrated another level to his game that reminded me of another Swede named Peter Forsberg. The Flyers came out in the third period with energy, but found themselves killing yet another penalty about halfway through the game. Carter got a clean breakaway, putting the puck just wide of the net. From that moment on, he grabbed control of the game, dominating at both ends of the ice and willing the Flyers into a victory. Ladies and gentleman, that’s how a star is born.

If last season’s outburst during Mike Richard’s hamstring injury was Jeff Carter’s coming out party, then tonight was his declaration of dominance to the league.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    Saturday, November 22, 2008 10:45 pm

    I was worried you were going to miss a third win in a row! ๐Ÿ™‚

    20 games in and Carter’s still on pace for 60 goals. I’m reconsidering my earlier guess of, what was it, 54?
    Hmm.. I don’t remember which entry I posted it on. Any idea FF?

  2. Sunday, November 23, 2008 4:56 pm

    Yeah, I hate when life interferes with hockey. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Very accurate on your guess – 54 was on the money. I found the comment, posted after the game the Flyers shutout the Thrashers, 7-0.

  3. John permalink
    Sunday, November 23, 2008 6:46 pm

    Hmm.. Okay, now I remember it. I was suggesting trying to get Atlanta on the schedule an extra 70-80 times. As I recall, you compared Carter to Sundin on that occasion as well.

  4. Sunday, November 23, 2008 8:43 pm

    I do like the Carter-Sundin comparison. I just see a lot of similarities between the two, both in terms of their size and speed but also in the way they play the game. Neither is a playmaker, which is unusual for natural centers.

    I also believe that similarity is why Toronto offered Kaberle for Carter at the trade deadline. Cliff Fletcher was the man who traded for Mats Sundin in the first place, and he loves big players who crash the net.

  5. John permalink
    Sunday, November 23, 2008 9:39 pm

    And I’m sure you’re glad the Leafs didn’t manage to work out a deal for Carter. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Monday, November 24, 2008 9:02 am

    For sure. I’m not a huge Kaberle fan, partially because I think there are a number of better choices for an offensive defenseman out there. Especially when a young center like Carter is the trade bait.

    I was on the Carter-for-JayBo bandwagon earlier this season. I mean, can you imagine a defense corps with Timonen, Bouwmeester and Coburn on the same blueline, not to mention Sbisa and Parent? I’m drooling just thinking of it.

    But with the addition of Carle and the way Carter has stepped up, I would hate to give up Carter for anything less than a Vezina candidate like Luongo or Nabokov.

  7. Monday, November 24, 2008 9:03 am

    Unless you’re willing to give up Budaj . . .

  8. John permalink
    Monday, November 24, 2008 11:16 am

    Didn’t I already explain the whole theory of “three goal loss minus an extra goal, still equals a loss.”? ๐Ÿ™‚

    But both of those guys are injured. Brodeur, Nabokov, Luongo… I thought I heard something about Fleury being hurt as well. Maybe the Palin Curse has moved on from the Flyers and now just affects goalies {See Legace, Manny}. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Monday, November 24, 2008 12:32 pm

    Nabokov is practicing and should be ready for games soon. They didn’t want to rush him back since the team is continuing to be successful with Boucher.

    What a curse! Since the Flyers always have bad luck with goaltenders, maybe a league-wide curse on goalies will have a reverse affect on them. That would be sweet.

  10. John permalink
    Monday, November 24, 2008 2:34 pm

    Yeah, but as you just said yourself, Philly always seems to have goaltending issues. So I’m not sure trading Carter away for a goalie would be the greatest idea anyway, even if Nabokov is back to full speed soon. Although I would think trading for an upper-echelon goalie might offset the Flyers bad luck with netminders..

    If so, maybe I can trade away the Avs share of the curse in exchange for a great, but affected, goalie. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

