Skip to content

Philly Sports News

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Watching the Flyers’ webcast of the preseason game against the Caps . . .

In related sports news, the Phillies won their second NL East title in two years, and the entire city is abuzz with excitement.  City Hall even dyed the water in its fountains red in honor of the Phils.

But apparently not everyone is fanatical about the Phillies.  Two women were sitting in front of me on the train from Suburban Station at City Hall down to 30th Street Station.  They were discussing how the water in the fountains was such an unhealthy shade of pink, and both seemed concerned that this might prove a hazard to the public.  Finally, I couldn’t take it any more.  “The Phillies are in the playoffs.  Their team colors are red and white.”

The ladies nodded, understandingly.  A man behind me tapped me on the shoulder and whispered, “Thanks.”

My good deed for the week is done.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    Friday, October 3, 2008 10:42 pm

    My good deed of the week is finally showing up on here again. 🙂
    Almost time for the new season!

  2. John permalink
    Friday, October 3, 2008 10:43 pm

    Hey, there’s no more Waiting for Approval when commenting… What’d I miss?

  3. The Frozen Fan permalink
    Saturday, October 4, 2008 8:09 am

    This was really my first venture into hockey blogging, and so I wasn’t sure at first how everything would work. As I’m becoming more familiar with blogging and with the WordPress platform, I’ve been slowly tweaking certain elements.

    I thought that, with the season starting back up, it simply makes sense to free up the comment system. I’ve approved almost everything to this point anyway, as long as it was PG. It’s a family show here, you know.

Leave a Reply

