Skip to content

A Frustrated Fan

Thursday, September 4, 2008

I spent nearly the entire month of August away from the blog.  True, I once posted a few thoughts on the Swedish saga/enigma known as Mats Sundin.  But otherwise, it was 30 days where the center of my universe drifted from hockey to summertime pleasures like cookouts, the beach, lazy evenings on my deck, and good friends.  Okay, and I went to work a few days in there.

But I am soooooo over summer.  I have a fever for hockey action that surpasses any desire Christohper Walken may ever have for the cowbell.  I cannot wait for a faceoff, a slapshot, a solid hit in the corner.  I miss John Tortorella’s crazy outbursts and Jacques Lemaire’s sarcastic postgame press conferences.  I long for a double header on Versus and for Coatesy’s Corner during the Flyers’ first intermission.  I crave the sound of a jam-packed Wachovia Center as Lauren Hart sings the national anthem.

Heck, I’d even get excited to watch Sidney Crosby spend an entire TV timeout whining to the referees about nothing while Pierre McGuire drones on and on about . . . . what does McGuire talk about anyway?

I mean, the Squirts skating to remixed music just isn’t cutting it anymore.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. petro438 permalink
    Thursday, September 4, 2008 9:42 pm

    I feel the exact same way. I need hockey. Now. I’m sick of blogging about preseason football and baseball, I need some NHL action. I’m sorry to inform you however, that I am a Ranger fan. Nevertheless the Atlantic will be tight, sending 4 teams to the playoffs last year, and 3 out of the 4 teams to the Eastern Conference finals. So many questions to be answered, can the Rangers stay afloat without Jagr, Straka and Shanny? Can Marty Brodeur squeeze out a few more great seasons and keep the Devils playoff hopes alive? Will Philly reel off another terrific season and playoff run? I can feel hockey in the air, only 15 days till Preseason game number 1. Anytime I need Flyer insight, from now on I’m coming here. I really enjoy your articles.

    https://thesportsnation.wordpress.com

  2. John permalink
    Friday, September 5, 2008 9:54 pm

    How did you manage to survive watching it more than once? 🙂

    The season’s finally starting to inch nearer. I just wish that occasionally we could see something about the NHL mixed in with all of the NFL and MLB stories… Thank goodness for NHL.com!

  3. Ron Spence permalink
    Sunday, September 7, 2008 5:52 am

    Hi:
    Welcome back. Was checking your blog every day to see what you had written.
    Thought it might be: burnout, sickness or holidays.
    Keep up the good work,
    Ron Spence

  4. The Frozen Fan permalink
    Sunday, September 7, 2008 7:48 pm

    Thanks, Ron. Mostly holidays, fortunately. Everyone can check out Ron’s blog over at http://crashingthegoalie.com.

    And the least the mainstream sports media could have done was mention Sundin as a footnote to the Brett Favre saga. I mean, really, the Sundin saga deserved a little more coverage.

    And I guess I can tolerate a Rangers fan around the site, petro438. Now that Jagr’s crossed the pond and Avery’s gone south for the winter, I need a new target for our trips up to the Garden. 🙂

Leave a Reply

