Skip to content

Sundin, don’t come here!

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

The latest rumors swirling about Sundin suggest that the Philadelphia Flyers are second on his list, just behind the New York Rangers.  And Paul Holmgren made a statement to the media indicating the Flyers are just “kicking the tires” with Sundin.

First of all, I don’t think that the Flyers will sign Mats Sundin.  There simply isn’t cap space to make it happen.  More importantly, the Flyers strength at center leaves Holmgren without a reason to gamble on trades up front.  Without a solid piece for long-term use coming back, the Flyers aren’t going to shuffle the deck.

Secondly, I don’t want Mats Sundin.  It’s not a question of talent or skill – Sundin remains one of the NHL’s top centermen.  But given his age, his unpredictable decision-making, and his unproven winning ability, he’s not worth sacrificing Jeff Carter and a winger – probably Scott Hartnell. 

Sometimes it’s worth leaving a group with proven chemistry on the ice together rathern than disrupt it with a big-hame star.  This is one of those times.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    Thursday, August 21, 2008 4:46 pm

    Is it just me or is Olympic hockey getting zero coverage?

  2. Friday, August 22, 2008 11:00 am

    Homer is too smart to even think about Sundin. I think it was just a slow news week, and he wanted to get the Flyers some media attention.

  3. John permalink
    Wednesday, August 27, 2008 11:59 pm

    Sakic is coming back to the Avs!

  4. The Frozen Fan permalink
    Thursday, August 28, 2008 8:16 am

    I’m glad Sakic decided to return. Of all the veterans out there sitting on the fence, he is by far the one who contributes the most to his team on a nightly basis.

    John, I’m curious about one thing. Do you think Sakic’s presences helps Stastny and the other young guys in Colorado, or hurts them? I know Forsberg’s presence here in Philadelphia held Richards back somewhat.

  5. John permalink
    Thursday, August 28, 2008 9:25 am

    I’m not going to say that he doesn’t hurt them at all, but I think he is more of an asset than a hindrance… Of course, that could just be because I’m a homer. 🙂

  6. Thursday, September 4, 2008 1:42 pm

    I agree, I don’t want Sundin at all. Maybe I’m crazy.

  7. Monday, September 8, 2008 11:48 am

    I don’t know how I feel. He’d be a good asset no doubt, but I guess it just depends on who we have to give away. I just don’t know.

  8. The Frozen Fan permalink
    Monday, September 8, 2008 12:32 pm

    Sundin will command something in the realm of $7 million a year, if he plays at all. For the Flyers to acquire him, they’d need to lose that amount of salary off the cap. Think of this way: Gagne + Jones = Sundin. Or Timonen + Coburn. Or Hartnell + Lupul.

    I don’t think Holmgren is truly after Sundin. And I don’t think Sundin is worth any of the players listed above.

Leave a Reply

